Annie Leonard dengan teamnya “The Story of Stuff” membuka mata kita secara visual dan berani (jujur) tentang ada apa sih dibalik kosmetik yang berbahan kimia sintetis berbahaya termasuk produk perawatan tubuh hingga untuk anak-anak dan bayi kita.

story-of-cosmetic2

Kita sebagai orang tua dan mereka-mereka yang peduli akan masa depan yang lebih baik, kudu meminta kepada produsen-produsen produk diatas untuk tidak menggunakan bahan-bahan yang tidak baik untuk kesehatan dan lingkungan.

Our voice will make a difference🙂

Video ini wajib ditonton!

For our better future
Deasi

**********************
By Annie Leonard

Can I tell you, I love my Pantene Pro V. Of the dozen or so personal care products I use everyday, it’s the one I can’t live without.

Says it gives my dull hair “the ultimate cool shine.” How does it do that? I was wondering that, while I was lathering it into my hair one day, so I read the ingredients right here: Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Tetrasodium EDTA, Methyl–iso–thiazo–linone… What is this stuff?

I took this list to some scientists who know how to read it. Turns out my Pantene contains a chemical linked to cancer.1 And lots of other products in my bathroom from sunscreen2 to lipstick3 and even baby shampoo4 also contain chemicals linked to cancer or other problems like learning disabilities, asthma and even damaged sperm.5

story of cosmetic1.jpg

Like most parents, I try to keep my family safe but now I nd out my bathroom is a mine eld of toxins. What are we supposed to do?

To nd out the answers we have to go back to one of the key features of our materials economy: Toxics in, toxics out.

If, at the factory, you pour toxic chemicals into a product – like baby shampoo – you’re going to wind up with… toxic baby shampoo6 … AND toxics in workers7 , communities8 , and, duh, babies.9

The Story of Cosmetics, released on July 21, 2010, examines the pervasive use of toxic chemicals in our everyday personal care products, from lipstick to baby shampoo. The seven-minute film reveals the implications for consumer and worker health and the environment, and outlines ways we can move the industry away from hazardous chemicals and towards safer alternatives.

Credits

The Story of Cosmetics was co-created and released by The Story of Stuff Project and the Campaign for Safe Cosmetics, a coalition effort launched in 2004 to protect the health of consumers and workers by securing the corporate, regulatory and legislative reforms necessary to eliminate dangerous chemicals from cosmetics and personal care products. The movie was produced by Free Range Studios.

Sumber:
1. http://storyofstuff.org/movies/story-of-cosmetics/