May 5, 2010

The next few days I will post daily so check for updates.

To be prepared for the post-oil future it is necessary to ask a few questions:

Where is the best location to live?

Some of the things to consider when chosing a place to settle are height above sealevel, population density, soil quality, natural forces such as vulcanoes and earthquake. Personally I wouldnt consider a place that is less than 500 meter above sea level. I also would stay away from areas with higher than 200 in population density. As an example KL has a density of 7449. If you exclude all areas that fit with those numbers you are getting close to a wise choice, but there are other things to consider. In Asia there are several countries I would consider ok to settle in, Phillipines and Cambodia is not among them. Mongolia could be a very good place depending on availability of certain resources.

Do I have enough land?

One person can live on as little as 20sqm but only with the optimal conditions. The minimum I would advice is 1 acre for a family of 2 adults and 2 children.

What kind of settlement is most sustainable?

To be posted soon.

Which skills are most useful?

To be posted soon.

What if someone gets sick?

To be posted soon.

How do I deal with unfriendly visitors?

To be posted soon.

How do I get things I cant make or grow?

To be posted soon.

More questions can be asked by emailing hpedersennyc@yahoo.com