When being green is a mindset, a lifestyle, belonging to a community

When my dear friend Deasi asked me to contribute to her new e-zine I was honored. I’m so excited about the work that she is doing and so my first reaction was eagerness to be a part of her team. Then I realized how little I know about sustainable lifestyles so I told her I didn’t think there would be much I could contribute. “I’m just learning”, I said. That is when she reminded me that I am like so many people. I’m slowly becoming aware of many aspects of our environment and trying to figure out how this newfound knowledge should influence my life.

On one hand, every day I learn about all the things man has concocted that make the earth
an unhealthy place to live. He has taken things that have existed for ages and started to use them in ways that appear to be advantageous. We use cleaning products, medicines and instant foods that all appear to make our lives easier when in reality, most of the things we use in our every day lives are in fact toxic. We come to find that some “medicines” which are meant to heal us are actually making us sick in different and perhaps more serious ways. As we learn the terrible truths about more and more modern products and procedures we can’t help but to feel helpless.

On the other hand, there are people around us who see those terrible truths and have
decided to do something about them. These are people who may or may not feel that
governments will come to the rescue of their people but they are not willing to wait for that
to happen.

These are people who look at their loved ones and can’t bear to expose
them to things that will harm them. These are people who know their power is limited
but hold onto the hope that if they educate themselves and align themselves with people
who are more experienced and knowledgeable, they can change their lives
for the better. These people believe that they have a personal responsibility, to themselves,
to their loved ones, to their communities and to future generations.

I am one of those people and I believe you are as well. We are in this together and in writing this column I hope to contribute my experiences and share knowledge I’ve gained from others who have taken up this quest for a sustainable lifestyle. I don’t pretend that we can change drastically in a short period of time but I do firmly believe that we can all take steps to improve the quality of our lives. I will share with you all that I can as I travel down this road because I truly believe that it is essential for us to share our experiences. The fact that we were put on this earth together shows that we need each other. This is not a quest to be taken up alone.

It is my hope that through my column I can inspire you to start your journey, continue it, and invite others to join us.For now, I leave you with a few photos of things which may have special significance on your journey. Join me in the future to see why!

Wishing you peace,
Khadijah Terri